No, you may not sit on the iPad


Today’s entry might be a tad puny because I am adored by a cat. I generally write sitting on my bed with my iPad in my lap. From time to time the cat–Albacore–decides this is an invitation to love on him. He purrs, he sheds, he continually repositions himself on top of my work.
The challenge is to appreciate the life gift which is Albacore while still finding a way to fulfill other life goals. I could choose to be annoyed. I could choose to put the work away and enjoy the cat. I could find a middle way.

This morning I felt balanced enough to put aside the iPad, pet the adoring, buzzing cat, and admire the way his eyes close in delight when I scratch under his chin. Five or ten minutes later I called it good, firmly repositioned him next to me, and began writing. Everyone was happy.

Mostly I fail the balance test. I find there are too many good things calling to me and I become frustrated and judgmental. Instead of having gratitude for the enormity of goodness in my life, I tell myself I’m failing because I haven’t tasted it all every day.

“I didn’t meditate twice today. I didn’t take time to clean the house I adore living in. I didn’t spend more time with the kids. I didn’t pray three times. I didn’t take a walk, or do yoga, or practice my martial arts forms. I didn’t get anything written on the novel. I didn’t call anyone I love. I didn’t…”

Rarely do I focus on what did fill my day. And rarely during the day do I notice that, yes, I’m doing what I love–one thing at a time.

I wish for all of us a life filled with goodness. I wish for all of us that we take the time to revel in the good which is currently happening, not rueing everything else which isn’t happening. I wish for all of us the ability to achieve balance.

Everything has an appointed season, and there is a time for every matter under the heaven. A time to give birth and a time to die; a time to plant and a time to uproot that which is planted. A time to kill and a time to heal; a time to break and a time to build. A time to weep and a time to laugh; a time of wailing and a time of dancing.

2 thoughts on “No, you may not sit on the iPad

Leave a Reply

