Mediocrity

Your vision will become clear only when you can look into your own heart. Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakes. –Carl Jung

I have always believed I should be “the best” at what I do and, further, that I have the capacity or even the right to be so. Perhaps this is due to rearing or some natural predilection–perhaps that’s just a cop-out way of referring to nature versus nurture.

Whatever the case, as I near my 45th year I am coming around to the realization I am not super woman. I am simply another human being trying to do my best in a challenging environment. This has been a painful realization. I was attached to the idea of being superior, dammit!

My most basic spiritual precept is a commitment to truth. Theoretically, I should be rejoicing that a lie I have lived with my whole life is evaporating before me. I am looking inside. I am awakening. The subversive voice within asks: what is the point of awakening if one is awakening to mediocrity? Here my spiritual conviction of the primacy of truth must take over. Awakening to the truth can only be good for me. It just hurts. It’s just frightening. What will I be left with when my protective lies are all burned away?

A final question: As I searched for an image to go with this post, I found a lot of inspiring quotes about avoiding mediocrity. The question is, how does one go about this? How does one take a mediocre life and turn toward excellence?

When mediocrity becomes the accepted norm, excellence dies a painful death. –Rashida Rowe

2 thoughts on “Mediocrity

  1. I’ve always found that the way to cope with the gap between expectation and reality is to lower your standards until the two match. At that point you will probably find that you are still doing better than many others, but you are now happy too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To acknowledge the truth of one’s actual capacities is an act which, by definition, transcends mediocrity. Such a burdened but inherently meaningless word, that; mediocrity. One might as well invoke “normal”! As if, indeed, each individual weren’t a unique combination of common elements resulting in anything but commonness. You have enshrined your guiding principle as ‘truth’; should you, then, stuff yourself into the falsely regularized nook labled ‘mediocrity’?
    A worthy question, one might think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

